Ask the people: Peter, Pedro and Jason

The final lot of these, it’s quite interesting to see the difference in opinion people have on the video games industry (especially Nintendo)

Can you introduce yourself and make any plugs that you wish to plug:

My name is Pete.  I’m a 26 year old Nintendo die-hard (I hate the term fanboy) from New York that posts as “Stormtrooper” on the Wrestlezone.com forums.  Yeah, I’m a Nintendo fan who posts a lot about Video Games on a Professional Wrestling forum. It makes no sense, but what can you do.

I’ve owned every system Nintendo acknowledges the existence of, and still have all of them (except GameCube, since my Wii plays GameCube titles and GameBoy, since Game Boy Color plays GB games).  Since I was old enough to purchase my own systems, I have gotten every one shortly after launch, or on Launch day. 

 Well, the name is Pedro Cuadrado (Ivol on the internet) and apart from a Spanish-written videogame blog (http://relatosdeungamer.wordpress.com/) I don’t have too much to plug here 😀

My name is Jason and I’m a 25 year old male gamer living in Ontario, Canada. While I received my first gaming console, the NES, at a fairly young age, I never really was anything more than a semi-casual gamer until much later on in life. Three or four years ago, I purchased a PlayStation 3, and that is when I found a true passion in the world of video games. I currently still own my NES, Super NES, a Wii, and my PS3, which is my go to console.

I think I can sometimes paint myself as a “Sony Fanboy”, but it is because I have more experience with the PlayStation when compared to the Xbox or Wii, that I am more confident in discussing it. Truly, I just want to play an enjoyable game, no matter what console it is released for, or what company released it.

Nintendo had a mix bag in 2011, what were your overall feelings on it?

Nintendo started poorly thanks to a sub-par 3DS launch.  That turned around in June with Ocarina of Time 3D, and the system became a must-own, especially after the price-cut.  Then Nintendo released Kirby Return to Dreamland, Super Mario 3D Land, Mario Kart 7 (3DS) and Skyward Sword.  Kirby (regardless of how well it was received) had the nostalgia charm, and Skyward Sword was easily my 2011 game of the year for all consoles.  Nintendo released a new console, a new Console Zelda epic (maybe the best one ever), remade the prior best Zelda Game ever in 3D (successfully, I might add), released a free Zelda game (Four Swords on DSi/3DS), an awesome 3D Mario Handheld adventure, and a great new Mario Kart.  They had an awesome year.

For me personally 2011 was a sigh of relief, I just can’t keep up with all this games being thrown at me each month from Sony, Nintendo, App Store, Android Market etc. I’m not saying everybody has to suffer because of my lack of time to play but every now and then gamers should slow down a little and learn to actually savour their games before throwing them in the pile of ‘being there done that’.   

Overall, I’d say that Nintendo had a pretty weak 2011. Certainly it wasn’t as successful as they could have hoped. The official announcement of the Wii U at E3 was received to a less than stellar reaction due to confusion. One of Nintendo’s biggest Wii exclusives of the year, Xenoblade, still hadn’t been released in North America due to concerns of poor sales. The 3DS launch wasn’t nearly as successful as it could have been due to the lack of games. 2011 could have been, and should have been a better year for Nintendo.

What was your favourite Nintendo released game of 2011?

As I mentioned, Skyward Sword.  The story is great, game-play is amazing, and controls are pretty much flawless.  Plus it gives us a back story into gaming’s 2nd biggest character/universe.  My second favorite is Four Swords Anniversary Edition on DSi/3DS because it was free and allowed you to play the multiplayer game by yourself.

Kirby Mass Attack; excellent graphics, insane amounts of cute and 10 Kirby’s ganging up on everything that moves. GREATEST GAME EVER!

I can’t recall playing any Nintendo game at all in the past year, but there was one game that was released in 2011 that sparked my interest. Lost in Shadows (released in Europe as A Shadow’s Tale in October 2010 -Lee) is a game that I have yet to play, but hope to eventually as I am a lot more interested in it than any other game released on the Wii in 2011. Yes, that means I’m more excited to play Lost in Shadows than Skyward Sword.

Most Nintendo bloggers out there have noted that Nintendo had a terrible start but a great end. Do you think they can maintain their momentum in Q1?

CAN they?  Yes.  WILL they?  Definitely not on the Wii end, because they aren’t releasing anything special there.
However, 3DS is a different story.  Resident Evil Revelations (February 7), Metal Gear Solid 3(D) (February 21), Kid Icarus Uprising (March 23), and a port of the highly acclaimed Rayman Origins (March 31) all are expected to debut before April 1.  I’d say they will definitely maintain the 3DS momentum, which is vital since Sony is putting out their next colossal failure of a handheld in Q1 2012.

Well they’re having a great Q1 as we speak. On the e-Shop front thing are getting quite awesome with Mighty Switch Force, the soon-to-be-released NightSky, Mutant Mudds etc etc. On the last Nintendo Direct event they showed a huge amount of games that are coming so yeah I think the Big N is doing fine.  

I 100% agree that the end of 2011 was miles ahead of the start of the year for Nintendo, but even then, the end of 2011 wasn’t anything that really caught my interest either. I just took a look at Nintendo’s potential release schedule for 2012, and while they may have some momentum going into the new year, I can’t see how that momentum will last very long. Right now, there doesn’t seem to be many games or announcements that will be able to use that momentum and keep it going, with the exclusion of the Wii U.

Which game are you most looking forward to Nintendo wise in 2012?

Honestly, whatever they are going to do for Wii U.  I know that’s not at all specific, but while there are 3DS games that look great, I really want to see what Nintendo can do with the new innovation of the Wii U controller and the new-to-Nintendo HD graphics.  Nintendo, whether you like the game or not, seems to always do something innovative with their first party titles.  Also, Nintendo is known for having a surprise announcement for a game, followed by a surprise that it’s coming out really soon.  Punch-Out Wii was this way, and so was Donkey Kong Country Returns if I’m not mistaken, and New Super Mario Bros. Wii as well.  I want to see what they do this year.  It’ll likely be something announced for the first time at E3 with a Q3 2012 Launch.

Kid Icarus: Upraising 20 years is too long a wait.

As of right now, I am only aware of two games coming out this year, that have my immediate interest. Metal Gear Solid 3D: Snake Eater for the 3DS, and Pandora’s Tower for the Wii. I’m a huge fan of Snake Eater and it is one of my favorite PS2 titles. I am very welcomed to the idea of having it on a handheld where I could play it on the go, as well as experiencing it in 3D. I am interested in seeing how the 3D can be incorporated into the game-play.  I don’t know much about Pandora’s Tower, but from the little I have seen, the game-play seems very similar to Onimusha, which is another PS2 game that I enjoyed playing.

What about the Wii? Is there life in the old girl yet or does the Last Story, Pandora’s Tower and The Last Story mark the end?

Wii is not dead, but it’s on Life Support.  I do not think Nintendo will put out another big-time game for the system, aside from the 3 NOA refused to release in North America for some ungodly reason.  There will be kids games, quick movie-tie-ins, and the annual Sports titles, but Nintendo is done releasing major games.  They have bigger fish to fry.

Rhythm Heaven Fever and Xenoblade  are coming to America so I don’t know about other people but my Wii will be getting some serious playtime in 2012.

If the Wii has anything else to show us, it doesn’t appear as if Nintendo is willing to let it. It seems like once The Last Story, Pandora’s Tower and Xenoblade Chronicles in released, Nintendo will be too busy looking towards the future to worry about the present.

The first half of the year will all be about the 3DS. After the price cut, change of marketing, system updates and some big titles what does it need during 2012?

To me there is one thing the 3DS needs to do keep the momentum.  That is to keep making good games.  Portable systems are sold based on their games, not whatever apps/random crap companies put on the system.  Thankfully, they are releasing big games.

They just need to keep the good games coming that’s all. And for the record, NO I don’t want a second analogue stick.

The biggest thing that the 3DS needs is more games to play. Monster Hunter 4 has been announced for the 3DS, and there is no question that a new Monster Hunter game would sell 3DS systems. If it can be released this year, that would provide Nintendo with a huge financial boost and a lot of momentum.

What game are you looking forward to most on the 3DS?

I haven’t the foggiest idea if it’s even coming out this year, because I have yet to hear anything about it.  But I’m really looking forward to Paper Mario.  I loved the original (which I finally beat in 2011 on Wii Virtual Console, thanks for suggesting it Lee).  According to IGN it’s a TBA 2012, so at some point this year, but we don’t know when.

Like I said, Kid Icarus. I need my corny dialogue on the go.

Metal Gear Solid 3D: Snake Eater.

When do you think we’ll see the WiiU?

Late October/Early November.  They are going to want the system released for the holiday rush, and they will probably want some time before then to help meet demands.  And I think they want to hold onto it for as long as possible to make sure the system is perfect for launch.

November 2012, just in time for the Holidays rush.

I think it will be announced at this year’s E3 that the Wii U will be released in November of this year.

What are your initial thoughts on it?

I get really hyped up for a new Nintendo Console when it’s announced.  I was wondering what they were going to do to innovate (as they always do), and the Controller with a screen thing intrigued me.  When they announced that it was a Tablet-sized screen, I almost did a spit-take.  I was expecting an iPod size screen, not an iPad size screen.  Immediately I was trying to think what the hell Nintendo can do with such an awesome idea.

The Wii U is exactly what Iwata said on E3 ‘Deeper and wider experiences’ the potential is there for basically everything, from casual titles, Online games, bite-size IOS games, Zelda, Mario etc etc.  Now is up to the 3rd parties to realize that potential and exploit it. Also, HD Metroid? Count Me The Flip in!

I think it’s too early to say as what was revealed at E3 wasn’t presented in the clearest way. It is always exciting to see new innovations from Nintendo and how it can be incorporated into games and the WiiU is no different.

I personally think that there needs to be at least two major Nintendo games on launch. Which game would you like to see and which one would be likely?

Games I want to see:
1.  Mario.  I don’t know why Nintendo hasn’t launched with a Mario game the past 2 consoles, but they really need to now.  Also, Nintendo hasn’t released a console Mario in a few years, so it’s time.  I’d bet on it, that’s how sure I am that it will happen.
2.  F-Zero.  They haven’t made one in a decade, and the Tablet Screen Motion Controller is perfect for racing (map/rear-view on the tablet, accelerometers/gyro sensors/whatever to control turning).
Games we will see:
1.  Mario.
2.  Metroid.  I’m not a huge Metroid fan.  Nor am I a huge FPS fan.  However, I’m really interested in what Nintendo can do with an FPS-type game on Wii U, and Metroid fits that bill.

I don’t know why but I think we’re going to see a new F-Zero game at E3 this year and it’s going to be at launch with the Wii U…the other game? Everybody is rooting for a new 2D Mario but I don’t think that’s going to happen, we’re probably going to see a new Metroid (ala ‘Other:M’).

I expect to see a game similar to Wii Sports Resorts, that consists of a handful of mini-games that provides the user with different ways of using the Wii U.   I would like to see a game like Pokemon Snap would do wonders if it was released along side the Wii U. I can’t help but think that using the tablet as a camera to take pictures of Pokemon would really show off what the new console is capable of doing. Plus it’s Pokemon, which should definitely help sales.

What does Nintendo need to do to make the WiiU launch a success?

There are 2 things Nintendo needs to do to make Wii U launch go well.
1.  Make the system affordable.  It doesn’t have to be cheap, but it can’t be over $350, especially in this economy.  The other systems were able to almost get away with it because of their dual functionality, but for just a gaming system, anything over $300 by itself or $350 with a game is asking for too much.
2.  Put out at least 1, but hopefully 2+ must-own title, whether it’s a 1st party title or not.  Obviously if they release a Mario game which I expect that’s one.
3.  Announce how the Online is going to work, and have said Online work very easily.  Nintendo has been way behind the 8-Ball with Online, and they need to step it up if they want to still make consoles.  Nintendo is selling a Gaming system.  People won’t buy it if it’s too expensive, or if there aren’t games that make the system a necessity.

I’ve always been okay with the ‘minimalist’ approach Nintendo has with their Online ventures but this time I think they HAVE to go all the way. Also Nintendo NEEDS to work on their relationships with the third parties to ensure that the infamous ‘3DS launch draught’ doesn’t happen again on the Wii U.

The Wii U needs to be launched with a competitive price, which is something that Nintendo always manages to do. It also needs visible support from Nintendo as well as a number of third party developers. This support needs to be evenly spread out short term, and long term, keeping the Wii U constantly relevant in the console race.

Do you think that the console will bring back the MIA third party developers or will it be much of the same?

Sadly, I do not think that the decision is up to Nintendo, or the fans.  It’s up to the developers themselves. But regardless, I do think some of them will come back.  All it takes is 1 kick-ass title, or better/better-selling port of an PSBox360 title.  And since the system is more powerful then the current generation, they should be able to port games easier.

I like to think so. I think that Nintendo declaring that they want to attract more than just the casual gaming crowd with the Wii U is a step in the right direction in doing so. One of the other problems that they face is multi-console games being “downgraded” to the Wii U. If the gamer can have an equal or better experience on the Wii U rather than on the PS3 or Xbox 360, then that will help third party developers invest in the Wii U.

Lastly give me some E3 predictions, the crazier the better.

Here’s some predictions:
1.  Mario is a launch title for Wii U
2.  Wii U launch price of $275, $300 with a (albeit awesome) Tech Demo like Wii Sports was, or $325 with a full fledged game.
3.  That Zelda book that Nintendo released in Japan with the Zelda timeline will be translated and sold Globally.
4.  Wii U games will be given an MSRP of $54.99 as a way to get people to choose Wii U over PSBox360
5.  Nintendo announces a new 3DS model with 2 circle pads, debuting in the Summer, packaged in a bundle with a game that requires 2 pads.
6.  Nintendo announces a downloadable remake of Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures (the GCN game) for Wii U.
7.  (Sorry Lee) Legend of Zelda: Link to the Past is getting remade.  Just not on the 3DS.  It’ll be remade in HD on the Wii U as a Launch Title.
8.  Nintendo has a big-time 3rd Party developer releasing a huge game for Wii U.  The party?  Rockstar Games.  The game? GTA V.
And now for my most unrealistic, craziest prediction yet, something I wanted for years now.
9.  Nintendo and Sega release a Mario and Sonic adventure game for Wii U (maybe even as a launch title in place of the Mario game).  Eggman/Robotnik (I assume he means Bowser/Robotnik -Lee) team up to eliminate their enemies, making Mario and Sonic team up.  They absolutely, positively need to do this eventually (how they haven’t yet is beyond me), and it might be something that would get the hardcore gamers (especially ones from the 90’s) to make Wii U a must-own console.  The only Mario and Sonic games have been the Olympics (BTW M&S at London 2012 Olympics is coming out soon too) and Sonic as a playable character in Super Smash Bros.

Rockstar game for Wii U launch, Earthbound for the 3DS e-Shop, Half- Life 3 Wii U Launch title and the Nintendo Amusement Park is going to open in 2020!!!

The Wii U will be announced.

Posted on 15/01/2012, in Features. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

