Wii Week: Hidden gems

So for part three of my four parter look at the wii I’ve decided to have a gander at the hidden gems out there on the console.  I’ll look at five of them but there are much more than that around.  Oh yeah and they’re all third party!

Zack and Wiki: Quest for Barbaros’ Treasure

An action adventure point and click game is something that kind of died out about 15 years ago, whilst classics such as Monkey Island hold special places in our memory for most Z&W has been overlooked.  This game offers taking puzzles as well as great comedy that goes a lot deeper than the cutesy graphics would make you believe.  This is definitely one to buy and you can get it very cheap both brand new and pre owned but if you live in the UK I do have a copy to give away, but I’ll tell you that at the end.

Mini Ninjas

Another cheap game (I got it £9 brand new from blockbuster) Mini Ninjas received a multi platform release and it is great fun.  You’re a mini ninja called Hiro who fills the stereotypes of being called on an “epic adventure” it’s an action adventure style game but you also have five people to help you on your journey.  All five (plus yourself) have different powerups including one with mega strength, a blow dart expert, an archer, someone who thinks they’re a tiger and someone with a Naginata.  Great game, great story, great gameplay…quite immersive.

de Blob

Another one of those games I always struggle to explain well, but it’s great fun.  Just watch the video:

Mushroom Men The Spore Wars

I love this platformer, a brilliant story, nice and dirty visuals (by dirty I mean grungy).  The story is about four Mushroom tribes who arrived on Earth due to a meteorite crash and all four are at war with each other.  You’re a Mushroom called Pax who pretty much must save the day.  It’s a nice platformer with some great puzzles including weapon upgrades with everyday items such as matches and a stick!  Whilst it’s an easy game it’s a nice game to play through.  You can pick this game up for about a fiver (I paid £7 at HMV a year ago, it’s £4.50 in CEX when I checked today).

Little King’s Story

Little King's story

I’ve heard this described as Animal Crossing meets Pikmin, and I would agree with that.  You’re King Corobo and you need to unite the seven kingdoms, the back of the box says it “mixes gameplay elements from real life-sim, strategy and adventure genres” and it works so well.  The story is great, the gameplay is fun and there are many little side things in this game to immerse you.  This game you can get for £7 on amazon, though CEX have a few copies for £3.

There are tons of other gems such as No more heroes 1&2, Madworld, a Shadow’s Tale, Blastworks, Dragon Quest Swords among others.  What about you?  Can you think of any 3rd party gems for the Wii?

Win a copy of Zack and Wiki

Oh yes, I just realised I had two copies of this game so I’m offering a copy of this game for anyone in the UK.  In order to qualify you need to follow me on twitter @NintendoLee and tweet me with your favourite hidden gem on the Wii.

Posted on 16/04/2011, in Hidden Gems, Wii. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  1. Pingback: New to Nintendo Lee? «

  2. Pingback: This week in Gaming history 14th November – 20th November «

Leave a Reply

